The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) and the Naval Facilities Engineering Command (NAVFAC) are soliciting comments from the construction community about the potential use of government-mandated project labor agreements (PLAs) on federal construction projects in six states including North Carolina, Virginia, Louisiana, Maryland, Kentucky and Texas.

The USACE Wilmington District advertised that comments related to PLA requirements on federal Multiple Award Task Order Contracts (MATOC) to build unspecified projects in North Carolina and Virginia are due Dec. 17 and can be submitted to Danielle Dinger, danielle.dinger@usace.army.mil

In Louisiana, the USACE Vicksburg District is soliciting responses to a PLA survey for a project building a floodgate as part of a Hurricane Storm Damage Risk Reduction System in Plaquemines Parish, La. Comments should be sent to Janalyn Dement, janalyn.h.dement@usace.army.mil by Dec. 19

NAVFAC Washington issued a survey for a helicopter facility at Joint Base Andrews in Camp Springs, Md. Responses can be sent to Stephen Astwood, stephen.astwood@navy.mil and to William Boyd III, william.boyd2@navy.mil no later than 2 p.m. (ET) on Dec. 19.

The USACE Louisville District is asking for comments regarding a new high school being built at Fort Campbell, Ky. Responses are due by Dec. 23 at 1 p.m. (ET) to Brenna Crawford, brenna.a.crawford@usace.army.mil

Finally, the USACE Ft. Worth district is requesting responses to a survey for the Unmanned Aerial Vehicle complex project in Fort Bliss, Texas. Due Dec. 27, surveys can be sent to Richard D. Feller, richard.feller@usace.army.mil

All ABC members and construction professionals are encouraged to respond to the request for information. Tell NAVFAC and the USACE that government-mandated PLAs decrease competition, increase costs, and harm economy and efficiency in government contracting. 

ABC National has taken the opportunity to respond to all PLA surveys as they are issued and encourages its members to do the same. For assistance with responding to these surveys, contact ABC’s Director of Federal Procurement and Labor Affairs Ben Brubeck, brubeck@abc.org.  

For more information on PLAs, visit www.thetruthaboutplas.com, Facebook.com/thetruthaboutplas and Twitter.com/truthaboutplas. To support ABC’s efforts to ensure fair and open competition on federal, state and local construction projects funded by taxpayer dollars, make a donation here: donate.thetruthaboutplas.com.