Intent to Compete - September 4, 2015

Team Registration - October 16, 2015
$250 per person
Kirsten Krauer

Construction Management Competition

ABC's Construction Management Competition (CMC) is a hallmark competition that promotes careers in construction management.  The competition is sponsored in part by the Trimmer Construction Education Foundation (TCEF) and ABC members. In addition to providing a significant learning opportunity, the competition fosters an environment that will bring out the best in each team; encourage dialogue among the students; and foster the team spirit as students rise to meet this challenge. The CMC is designed to challenge construction knowledge, time management, organizational, and presentation skills. The competition features teams of four (4) college and university students testing their project management, estimating, safety, quality control, and presentation skills.  Come prepared to have fun, challenge other students, and demonstrate your ability to think on your feet.


All teams must be from an ABC Student Chapter in good standing.  If you are not an ABC Student Chapter and would like to compete, please contact Kirsten Krauer at 202-595-1864 or

Each team member and alternate must be active undergraduate members of their chapter and actively enrolled in their college or university at the time of the CMC.

Only one team per college or university may compete in the competition.  

2015 Competition

Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) will host the Construction Management Competition (CMC) and the Construction Management Career Fair during ABC's Leadership Conference, at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina in San Diego, CA on November 8-11, 2015.

Hotel and travel Information

Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
1380 Harbor Island Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
Phone: (619) 291-2900

Hotel Cut Off Date: October 16, 2015
Check In: 3:00 pm
Check Out: 12:00 pm

Room Rate: $189.00

Phone Reservations: 1-877-734-2726 / Group Code: 2015 ABC Leadership Week 
Online ReservationsABC Group Booking Link

Hotel Cancellation Policy:
Reservations can be cancelled up until 48 hours prior to arrival time without penalty.  Cancellation fee (of one nights room rate) if done within 48 HRS of arrival time.

ABC's Leadership Conference

2015 Construction Management Competition
November 8 - 11, 2015
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
San Diego, CA


11/08/15  Competition Registration
11/09/15 Welcome, Orientation and Breakfast
  Phase 1 and 2 Proposals due
  CMC Team Meeting with Mike Bellaman,
ABC President and CEO
  Phase 3 Announcement
  CMC Team Networking Reception
11/10/15 Faculty Advisor Forum
  Phase 3 Presentations
  Industry Trends Discussion &
Competition Debrief
11/11/15 Construction Management Career Fair
  Awards Luncheon
On behalf of ABC and the construction management competition, we would like thank the judges for giving their time and talent toward making this year's competition so successful.

2014 Construction Management competition judges

Hensel Phelps Construction Co.
David Brooke
Samantha Brooke
Sara Lomonaco
Bob Provan
Matt Recinos
Doug Taylor
Chris Woodling

DPR Construction
Kali Bonnell
Tom Stickrod

Grunley Construction Company, Inc.
Kim Kessler

Wondra Construction, Inc.
Roger Thimm

2014 Competition Highlights

ABC student chapter members from colleges and universities across the nation came to Miami, FL to compete in the 2014 Construction Management Competition, held during ABC's 2014 Leadership Conference. This year the competition drew competing teams from 19 colleges and universities. Students worked in teams of four in an intense day-long competition, taking part in a bid day drill. Prior to the event, teams prepared a project schedule and developed a safety plan, then came prepared to adjust their work based on changes to the project, such as site logistics. Nine finalist teams were chosen to verbally present their submission to a panel of judges acting as owners' reps and design professionals.

2014 Competition Winners


  • 1st Place: Florida International University
  • 2nd Place: The Ohio State University
  • 3rd Place: Texas State University
  • 1st Place: California State University - Long Beach
  • 2nd Place: Florida International University
  • 3rd Place: Texas State University
  • 1st Place: Colorado State University
  • 2nd Place: The Ohio State University
  • 3rd Place: University of Northern Iowa
  • 1st Place: University of Cincinnati
  • 2nd Place: Florida International University
  • 3rd Place: Ferris State University
Quality Control AWARDS
  • 1st Place: Kent State University
  • 2nd Place: Colorado State University
  • 3rd Place: The Ohio State University