2016 Craft Professional of the Year
2016 CPOY Finalists
Bryan Feller
Gaylor Electric, Inc.
ABC Indiana/Kentucky Chapter

Christopher goodwin
Comfort systems of Virginia, inc.
aBC Virginia Chapter

Michael VanBemDen
Kent Companies, Inc.
ABC Western MICHIGAN Chapter
Kirsten Krauer

Each year, ABC presents the Craft Professional of the Year (CPOY) award to an individual who sets a high standard for professionals in their craft by exhibiting outstanding skills and leadership. The recipient of this national award demonstrates a passion for the trade, taking pride in hands-on work and the satisfaction of a job well done to benefit both the construction industry and the greater community. The winner is a master of skills whose commitment to excellence makes him or her the ultimate example of merit-shop success in the field.

Deadline:  Jan. 6, 2017

The 2017 winner
will receive:

  • A 2017 Ram Tradesman Truck and a Bosch ReaXX Table Saw
  • A trophy
  • A feature article in Construction Executive Magazine
  • Press coverage in ABC National outlets
The 2017 Finalists
will receive:

  • One (1) round-trip coach airfare and three (3) nights' hotel accommodation (Tuesday – Friday)
  • A Bosch tools prize pack
  • Video interview featured on the CPOY website
  • Press coverage in ABC National outlets
The 2017 Finalists' Companies
will Receive:
Eligibility Requirements*
  1. Nominees must be currently employed by an ABC member firm in good standing.
  2. Approximately 90% of the nominees’ daily job duties must include either daily use of tools and equipment or direct field supervision of trade craftspeople using tools.
  3. Nominees must currently possess a journey-level designation and be able to provide proper documentation.
*For additional rules and regulations, click here.

Nomination Process
  • All nominations must be submitted by Jan. 6, 2017 by 11:59 p.m. (EST).  Click here to begin the nomination process.
  • The following documents must be included to complete the nomination:
  1. Proof of Journeyman designation; in lieu of a Journeyman’s license, you may submit a signed letter from your company stating that the nominee is a Journeyman as described by your organization
  2. A 250-word (maximum) essay - please see the Rules and Regulations for details
  3. Nominee’s documentation of current craft certificates, licenses, awards, etc., within the past three (3) years
  4. Nominee’s recognition from industry, community or civic involvement within the past three (3) years
  5. High-resolution color photo of the nominee
  • Finalists will be announced, via email, on Feb. 1, 2017.
  • Finalists will be interviewed during ABC’s 2016 Workforce Week in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. on Tuesday, Feb. 28, 2017.
  • The winner will be announced at the Careers in Construction Awards Ceremony on Friday, March 3, 2017.