ABC Names Finalists for Craft Professional, Instructor of the Year Awards

WASHINGTON, March 18—Associated Builders and Contractors named today the finalists for the 2019 Craft Professional and Craft Instructor of the Year awards. The winners of both awards will be announced at the Careers in Construction Awards on March 28 during the ABC Convention 2019 in Long Beach, California.

“The finalists for the 2019 Craft Professional and Craft Instructor of the Year awards showcase the best of the best in our industry,” said 2019 ABC National Chair Tony Rader, telecom vice president of National Roofing Partners, Coppell, Texas. “Each of these individuals possess an outstanding commitment to world-class craftsmanship, education and leadership, and we are fortunate to have their contributions to the merit shop construction sector.”

The 2019 Craft Professional of the Year finalists are:

·         Joel Newton, Windemuller, ABC Western Michigan Chapter

·         Shaun O’Brien, Buist Electric, ABC Western Michigan Chapter

·         Adrian Rios, McCullough Construction, ABC Northern California Chapter

The 2019 Craft Instructor of the Year finalists are:

·         Joseph Fentross, Rancho Pacific Electric, ABC Southern California Chapter

·         Clemon Prevost, Fluor, ABC Greater Houston Chapter

·         Fernando Sanchez, TIC/Kiewit, ABC Rocky Mountain Chapter

ABC presents the annual Craft Professional of the Year award to a construction craft professional who excels in his or her field while also demonstrating a commitment to safety, education and the merit shop philosophy. Craft Instructor of the Year is awarded to an educator who possesses outstanding creativity, a positive attitude and the ability to transfer knowledge through communications skills and innovative teaching that promotes lifelong learning to the future construction workforce.

Tradesmen International, North America’s premier craft professional staffing resource, and NCCER, the training, assessment, certification and career development standard for the construction industry, are the co-sponsors of these awards.