Indiana Design Engineer Named ABC Craft Instructor of the Year

Contact: Jeff Leieritz (202) 905-2104             
[email protected]
                                                                For Immediate Release

WASHINGTON, D.C., March 21– Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) has named Gaylor Electric Inc. design engineer John Lupacchino of Fishers, Ind., its 2016 Craft Instructor of the Year. Lupacchino received the honor at ABC’s Careers in Construction awards ceremony on March 4 in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

“John’s real-world experience, book knowledge, commitment to safety and passion for developing the current and future generation of electricians is unparalleled,” said 2016 ABC National Chair David Chapin, president of Willmar Electric Service, Lincoln, Neb. “The construction industry faces a well-documented shortage of skilled labor, but committed leaders like John help ABC and our member companies train America’s next generation of skilled craft professionals.”

Lupacchino began his career more than 27 years ago as an electrical apprentice. In his current role he is responsible for engineering design, estimating, quality assurance as well as code interpretation and compliance. He is also a licensed master electrician in more than 35 jurisdictions, LEED accredited professional and instructor at Gaylor University.

In addition, Lupacchino is an NCCER-certified craft instructor and has taught apprenticeship classes at ABC’s Indiana/Kentucky Chapter in Indianapolis for more than 14 years.

Each year, ABC presents the Craft Instructor of the Year Award to an instructor who possesses outstanding creativity, a positive attitude, and the ability to transfer knowledge through communications skills and innovative teaching to promote lifelong learning to our future workforce. The recipient of this national award best embodies the merit shop ideals through superior effort and talent.

As ABC’s 2016 Craft Instructor of the year, Lupacchino received a $10,000 cash prize from NCCER and the Trimmer Construction Education Foundation.