2020 ABC Construction Management Competition Step 3

We plan to hold the Construction Management Competition Step 3 virtually. Based on the scores of the first two components, 11 teams have been selected to advance to Step 3 and invited to make their presentations virtually to our panel of judges. Each team must have four competitors in order to compete in the presentations. If a team elects to opt out of the competition completely, it will automatically receive a full refund. If a team decides to continue to Step 3 for judging, the team will be refunded a balance of the registration fee. All alternates will receive a full refund upon request.

2020 ABC Construction Management Virtual Competition Schedule

Monday, Aug. 17    
Tuesday, Aug. 18    

Competition Overview

The ABC Construction Management Competition provides competing teams an opportunity to experience an actual project that exhibits unique characteristics and issues. Participating teams assembled a general contracting firm that represented their school and ABC Student Chapter in the competition. 

The 2020 competition will focus on the selection of a general contractor for a project based on price and technical proposal. The selection will be facilitated in three Steps.

Step One – Price and Technical Proposal consists of pre- competition work that provides the team an estimated project cost and demonstrates overall experience and capability in constructing the project.

Step Two – Competition Day consists of a spontaneous exercise led by the CM Competition Committee.

Step Three – Teams that are shortlisted move to the interviews which consist face-to-face discussions between the team’s leadership and the Competition Judges.

2019 Construction Management Competition Committee & Judges

On behalf of ABC and the construction management competition, we would like thank our CMC committee and judges for giving their time and talent toward making this year's competition so successful.

Balfour Beatty
Bruce Capon
Sam Fakih
Erica Frandsen
Tommy MacCabe - CMC Co-chair
Tatiana Samuel

Kevin DeHaas
Justin Wood

Hensel Phelps Construction Co.
David Brooke - CMC Co-chair
Ryan Burbach
Mariah Cooney
Ryan Dirvin
Morgan May
Robert Muellner
Chris Wilson
Chris Woodling - CMC Committee member

Gaylor Electric
DJ Fritz

McCarthy Building
Alex Belkofer - CMC Committee member

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Construction Management Competition Committee or a Judge for the 2020 CMC in Nashville, please contact Haley Moyers at or (202) 595-1974. 


ABC is here to help and provide support in any way as we navigate this crisis together. Please find ABC coronavirus resources for members as well as chapters operations: