NSCN Banner

The ABC National Student Chapter Network (NSCN) connects local ABC chapters to colleges and universities with construction related degree programs with the ultimate goal of building the construction management pipeline and mentoring future leaders of the construction industry.

At the local level, ABC chapters facilitate the interaction of ABC member firms with student chapters through a variety of industry association and school events, including regular membership meetings, guest speakers, internships, community service projects, fundraisers, career fairs/career awareness events, job site tours, and other activities.

As a member of an ABC student chapter, students are given the opportunity to become more knowledgeable about the construction industry while learning the importance of the merit shop philosophy and free-enterprise through active association involvement. Involvement in the student chapter provides interaction with ABC National and chapter staff, member contractors, faculty and staff, and students with similar interests and career goals.

ABC National Student Chapter Network

Student Benefits 

Connect with ABC members
  • Meet and work with ABC members and chapter staff
  • Participate in ABC membership events
  • Volunteer with a local ABC chapter
  • Compete in ABC’s annual Construction Management Competition
  • Complete sponsorship proposals to secure funding to compete in the CMC
  • Opportunities to hold a leadership role on the CMC team

Chapter Benefits

Support the career growth of future construction industry leaders 
  • Share the ABC mission, philosophy and vision with the next generation
  • Host workshops on professional development
  • Facilitate interactions between student chapters and member firms, as well as ABC committees and students
  • Represent your chapter on school campuses

Member Benefits

Play an active role in mentoring future construction industry leaders. 
  • Meet and mentor students who will be tomorrow’s construction leaders 
  • Develop young professionals and future ABC leaders
  • Network with students at ABC chapter events

Join the ABC National Student Chapter Network

ABC Construction Management Competition 

The ABC Construction Management Competition (CMC) is a hallmark competition that promotes careers in construction management. The competition is designed to challenge construction knowledge, organization, time management, and presentation skills. This competition gives the nation’s top construction management students a glimpse into the real world of construction, as well as an opportunity to showcase their talents. In addition to providing a significant learning opportunity, the competition fosters an environment that will bring out the best in each team; encourage dialogue among the students; and foster team spirit as students rise to meet this challenge. 

Click here for more information! 

2023 ABC Construction Management Competition Highlights

2023 Chair of the ABC National Board of Directors

ABC National Student Chapter Network


National Student Chapter Network Participating Schools

College/University   Faculty Advisor ABC Chapter
Appalachian State University   Dr. Reza Foroughi ABC Carolinas
Auburn University   J. Mark Taylor ABC Alabama
Ball State University   Sherif Attallah ABC Indiana/Kentucky 
Benjamin Franklin Institute of Technology   Lap Yan ABC Massachusetts
Brigham Young University    Justin Weidman  ABC Utah
California State University- Fresno   Kelly Yost ABC Northern California 
California State University - Long Beach   Joseph Kim ABC Southern California 
Clemson University    Vivek Sharma  ABC Carolinas  
Colorado State University    Jonathan Elliott ABC Rocky Mountain
East Carolina University    Daniel V. Perrucci, Ph.D. ABC Carolinas  
Ferris State University    Ferrell Clark  ABC Western Michigan
Florida Gulf Coast University   Kenneth Sands ABC Florida Gulf Coast
Florida Institute of Technology    Troy Nguyen  ABC Florida East Coast
Florida International University    Jose Faria  ABC Florida East Coast
Kennesaw State University    Hussein Abaza  ABC Georgia
Kent State University   George Bigham  ABC Northern Ohio
Lamar University    Dr. Seokyon Hwang    ABC Southeast Texas
Lawrence Technological University   Ahmed Al-Bayati ABC Southeastern Michigan 
Louisiana State University    Charles Pecquet ABC Pelican
Michigan State University   Bob Aydukovic ABC Greater Michigan Chapter 
Millersville University    Ebrahim Karan ABC Keystone
Minnesota State University, Moorhead    Rachel Axness  ABC Minnesota/North Dakota
Mississippi State University   Lee Carson  ABC Mississippi
Missouri State University    David Joswick  ABC Heart of America
Montgomery College    Kara Guthro  ABC Metro Washington
Norfolk State University   Jose Ferrandiz ABC Virginia 
North Carolina A&T State University    Dr. Sho  ABC Carolinas 
North Dakota State College of Science    Lisa Hauck  ABC Minnesota/North Dakota
Old Dominion University    Joe Ritchie  ABC Virginia 
Pennsylvania College of Technology   Wayne Sheppard ABC Keystone
Prairie View A&M University   Anne McGowan ABC Greater Houston
Purdue University    Clark Cory  ABC Indiana /Kentucky
Seminole State College   Junyong Ahn ABC Central Florida 
South Dakota State University   Gary Hemphill ABC Nebraska/South Dakota
Stephen F. Austin University    Sally Ann Swearingen ABC Greater Houston
Texas A&M University - College Station   Anne McGowan ABC Greater Houston
Texas State University - San Marcos    Daniel Hesse ABC Central Texas
The Ohio State University    Don Schafer ABC Central Ohio
The University of Akron   Brian Ballou ABC Northern Ohio
The University of Louisiana at Lafayette   Sharon LaHood ABC Pelican
Tuskegee University   Kimberly Baylor Bivins  ABC Alabama
University of Alabama    Eric Marks ABC Alabama
University of Central Florida   Amr Oloufa  ABC Central Florida
University of Cincinnati    Jill Flood ABC Ohio Valley
University of Florida    Jim Sullivan  ABC Florida Gulf Coast
University of Houston   Lingguang Song  ABC Greater Houston
University of Maine    Scott Dunning ABC Maine
University of Maryland, College Park   Neil Schulman ABC Metro Washington
University of Maryland Eastern Shore   Dr. Nammy Lee ABC Metro Washington
University of North Florida    David Birkelbach  ABC Florida First Coast
University of Northern Iowa    Randy Sharp ABC Iowa
University of Southern Mississippi    John Hannon ABC Mississippi
University of Tennessee at Knoxville    Charles Parker  ABC Greater Tennessee
University of Texas at San Antonio   Tulio Sulbaran ABC South Texas
University of West Florida   Dr. Salih Kocak ABC North Florida 
University of Wisconsin - Platteville    Gretchen Bockenhauer  ABC of Wisconsin
University of Wisconsin - Stout    Jim Bunkelman   ABC of Wisconsin
Western Kentucky University   Bashar Haddad ABC Indiana/Kentucky 

Student Chapter Map


ABC is also a member of these industry organizations:
In 1974, ABC and several industry and academic organizations founded the American Council for Construction Education (ACCE). The primary goal of ACCE is the promotion and continued improvement of post-secondary construction education. 
Learn More
ABC is actively involved with the Constructor Certification Commission of the American Institute of Constructors (AIC), which was established to help individual construction practitioners achieve industry-recognized professional status. 
Learn More
ABC is a supporter and industry member of the Associated Schools of Construction (ASC).
Learn More










Quick Links