Honoring the Best in the Construction Community

The ABC Construction Workforce Awards feature the Craft Instructor of the Year, Craft Professional of the Year and Young Professional of the Year. These individuals play critical roles in shaping the future of the construction industry by highlighting construction as a meaningful lifelong career, emphasizing safe work practices and expanding education opportunities.

Award recipients receive a $10,000 cash prize and a feature in Construction Executive magazine. Plus, they will continue to receive national exposure and professional development for years to come.

The 2025 nominations will open in August. The individual award winners will be announced at the Opening General Session at ABC Convention 2025, Feb. 25, in Las Vegas.

2025_Craft Instructor

ABC presents the annual Craft Instructor of the Year Award to an instructor who possesses outstanding creativity, a positive attitude and the ability to transfer knowledge through communications skills and innovative teaching to promote lifelong learning to the future construction workforce.

View Eligibility

2023_Craft Professional

ABC presents the annual Craft Professional of the Year award to a construction craft professional who excels in their field, demonstrates a passion for the trade, exhibits outstanding leadership qualities and demonstrates a commitment to safety, education and the merit shop philosophy.

View Eligibility

2022_Young Professional

ABC presents the annual Young Professional of the Year award to an individual under the age of 40 who is dedicated to the merit shop and is a natural leader and top performer in their field, based on career achievement, leadership and vision for the future of the commercial and industrial construction industry.

View Eligibility

Meet ABC's 2024 Winners


Craft Instructor of the Year

Paul Asselin
Gould Construction Institute Instructor
ABC Massachusetts Chapter


Craft Professional of the Year

Joseph Ahrens
HPS Plumbing Services
ABC San Diego Chapter


Young Professional of the Year

Mike Menke
FCI Constructors, Inc.
ABC Rocky Mountain Chapter