Component 23 – 2
Search Newsline

ABC announced ACI Mechanical as its Contractor of the Year, National Diversity Excellence Award winners, National Safety Award winners and America’s top construction projects at the annual Excellence in Construction® Awards on March 21 at ABC Convention 2018.

Contractor of the Year

ACI Mechanical Inc., Ames, Iowa, has been named ABC's 2017 Contractor of the Year, an award that recognizes companies for their corporate integrity, commitment to safety, professional development and expert craftsmanship. President Mike McCoy accepted the honor at the 28th annual Excellence in Construction® Awards.

ACI Mechanical’s team of engineers, project managers, skilled welders, pipefitters, sheet metal mechanics, service technicians and support staff is led by the executive team of President Mike McCoy, Director of Project Management Kent Meyn, Director of Engineering Greg Braga, Prefabrication Manager Shon Smith, Production and Training Manager Chris Kayser and Human Resources Coordinator Laura Sundine. As a founding member of ABC’s Iowa Chapter, ACI Mechanical’s executives also have served as chairmen and board members at the chapter and national levels, while encouraging local and national political engagement to support important merit shop candidates and causes.

With a solid safety record and an experience modification rate (EMR) under .65 for more than five years, ACI Mechanical has received dozens of industry safety awards through its commitment to ABC’s STEP program. The company also sets itself apart as an early adopter of prefabrication, BIM and 3D technology for enhanced jobsite communication and visualization, leading to efficient project delivery and a top reputation among clients. It is a three-time recipient of the chapter’s EIC Project of the Year Award and a frequent finalist and award winner on the national EIC level.

America’s Top Construction Projects

ABC honored more than 100 projects collectively worth $2.6 billion at the 28th annual Excellence in Construction® Awards.

The Excellence in Construction awards program is the industry’s leading competition that honors both general and specialty contractors for innovative and high-quality merit shop construction projects. The award honors all construction team members, including the contractor, owner, architect and engineer. The winning projects, selected from entries submitted from across the nation, were judged on complexity, attractiveness, unique challenges overcome, completion time, workmanship, innovation, safety and cost. A panel of industry experts served as the competition’s judges. 

A full list of Excellence in Construction Award winners is available on ABC’s website.

National Diversity Excellence Awards

ABC awarded National Diversity Excellence Awards to six member companies. Representatives from each company received the award at ABC’s 28th annual Excellence in Construction® Awards. 

The ABC National Diversity Excellence Awards program recognizes members that display exemplary diversity leadership in their workforce, supply chain and community with best-in-class recruitment policies, retention practices, and training and mentoring programs.

Awards were presented in six categories:

A full list of Excellence in Construction award winners is available on ABC’s website. To learn more about ABC’s diversity programs visit

National Safety Awards

ABC announced the winners of the 2017 National Safety Awards during the 28th annual Excellence in Construction® Awards. A total of 56 ABC member companies were recognized for their safety performance. 

The 2017 National Safety Awards were selected from ABC member firms that achieved Diamond, Platinum and Gold status in ABC's Safety Training Evaluation Process (STEP) in 2017. During the selection process, they were judged on self-evaluation scores, lost workday case rates, total recordable incident rates, leading indicator use, process and program innovations and video interviews conducted by members of ABC’s National Environment, Health and Safety Committee. 

STEP is the standard for developing world-class safety programs in construction and is designed to help both large and small contractors evaluate every aspect of their corporate safety and health program and identify opportunities for improvement. 

The National Safety Awards are presented in three major North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code categories: NAICS 236 – Construction of Buildings; NAICS 237 – Heavy and Civil Engineering Construction; and NAICS 238 – Specialty Trade Contractors.

See a complete list of National Safety Excellence Award winners on ABC’s website.